testing header
Math Goodies is a free math help portal for students, teachers, and parents.
Free Math
Newsletter

Interactive Math Goodies Software

Buy Math Goodies Software
testing left nav
Math Forums @ Math Goodies
Math Forums @ Math Goodies
Home | Profile | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Homework Help Forums
 Pre-Calculus and Calculus
 Questions for anybody with the experience...
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic   

scorpeus
Average Member

USA
12 Posts

Posted - 08/12/2007 :  16:23:00  Show Profile
Hello all. My name is John, I am a high school student and have been teaching myself calculus using the internet for about eight months, and have made some exceptional progress from what I believe, but I have a few questions that I think will be very easy for any veterans to answer from experience.

1. I have been wondering this for a while.
1/t dt = ln|t| + C according to the what I've heard, but I thought it should be something like:
(|t|/t)*ln|t| so that for f(t) = 1/t, for all t values less than zero, the area of that region would be negative as well, hence the absolute value of t over t (|t|/t). Should this be correct?

2. Another simple question. For the standard formula
lim (f(x + h) - f(x)) / h = dy/dx
h->
I have seen h equal infinte or zero. Which one is correct, and why?

3. A third question, maybe a little off of the calculus subject, concerns e. According to my standard graphing calculator,
e = 10^((43E6)/99,011,159) (E being 10 to the power of).
In my calculator, just a standard graphing calculator, it shows that this is the exact value of e. Is this true? Or is it just really close?

Thank you to anyone willing to help out.
Go to Top of Page

Ultraglide
Advanced Member

Canada
299 Posts

Posted - 08/18/2007 :  20:15:09  Show Profile
Absolutely.
Go to Top of Page

msakowski
Average Member

USA
18 Posts